Octavia Book - 513 Octavia Street - New Orleans - 504-899-READ

Welcome to Octavia Books, where our well-read staff is always happy to provide friendly assistance. Thank you for choosing to let Octavia Books serve you and be your independent bookstore.

Octavia Books Bestsellers - Week Ending JuLy 4, 2020

Here are the week's bestsellers at Octavia Books.

The Vanishing Half: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780525536291
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Riverhead Books - June 2nd, 2020

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

A GOOD MORNING AMERICA Book Club Pick! 

“Bennett’s tone and style recalls James Baldwin and Jacqueline Woodson, but it’s especially reminiscent of Toni Morrison’s 1970 debut novel, The Bluest Eye.” —Kiley Reid, Wall Street Journal 


So You Want to Talk About Race Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781580058827
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Seal Press - September 24th, 2019

In this New York Times bestseller, Ijeoma Oluo offers a hard-hitting but user-friendly examination of race in America


How to Be an Antiracist Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780525509288
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: One World - August 13th, 2019

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • From the National Book Award–winning author of Stamped from the Beginning comes a “groundbreaking” (Time) approach to understanding and uprooting racism and inequality in our society—and in ourselves.


The Yellow House: A Memoir (2019 National Book Award Winner) Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780802149039
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Grove Press - June 30th, 2020

A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSLLER

Winner of the 2019 National Book Award in Nonfiction

A brilliant, haunting and unforgettable memoir from a stunning new talent about the inexorable pull of home and family, set in a shotgun house in New Orleans East.


The Nickel Boys: A Novel Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9780345804341
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Anchor - June 30th, 2020

WINNER OF THE PULITZER PRIZE

ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR


White Fragility: Why It's So Hard for White People to Talk About Racism Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780807047415
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Beacon Press - June 26th, 2018

The New York Times best-selling book exploring the counterproductive reactions white people have when their assumptions about race are challenged, and how these reactions maintain racial inequality.


Stamped from the Beginning: The Definitive History of Racist Ideas in America Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781568585987
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Bold Type Books - August 15th, 2017

From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of How to Be an Antiracist, the National Book Award-winning masterwork revealing how racist ideas were created, spread, and became deeply rooted in American society.


The New Jim Crow: Mass Incarceration in the Age of Colorblindness Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781620971932
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: New Press - January 7th, 2020

Named one of the most important nonfiction books of the 21st century by Entertainment Weekly' Slate' Chronicle of Higher Education' Literary Hub, Book Riot' and Zora


One Hundred Years of Solitude Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780060883287
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harper Perennial Modern Classics - February 21st, 2006

A PBS Great American Read Top 100 Pick


A Burning: A novel Cover Image
$25.95
ISBN: 9780525658696
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Knopf - June 2nd, 2020

A TODAY SHOW #ReadWithJenna BOOK CLUB PICK!

For readers of Tommy Orange, Yaa Gyasi, and Jhumpa Lahiri, an electrifying debut novel about three unforgettable characters who seek to rise--to the middle class, to political power, to fame in the movies--and find their lives entangled in the wake of a catastrophe in contemporary India.


Girl, Woman, Other: A Novel (Booker Prize Winner) Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780802156983
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Grove Press, Black Cat - November 5th, 2019

NATIONAL BESTSELLER


Homegoing Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781101971062
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Vintage - May 2nd, 2017

Winner of the PEN/ Hemingway Award
Winner of the NBCC's John Leonard Award
Shortlisted for the British Book Award - Debut of the Year
A New York Times Notable Book
A Washington Post Notable Book


Mighty, Mighty Construction Site (Easy Reader Books, Preschool Prep Books, Toddler Truck Book) Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781452152165
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Chronicle Books - February 14th, 2017

The #1 New York Times Bestseller

Recommended for children ages 2-5 years to enjoy any time of day.


The Color of Law: A Forgotten History of How Our Government Segregated America Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9781631494536
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Liveright - May 1st, 2018

New York Times Bestseller • Notable Book of the Year • Editors' Choice Selection
One of Bill Gates’ “Amazing Books” of the Year
One of Publishers Weekly’s 10 Best Books of the Year
Longlisted for the National Book Award for Nonfiction
An NPR Best Book of the Year
Winner of the Hillman Prize for Nonfiction
Gold Winner • California Book Award (Nonfi


The End of Policing Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9781784782924
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Verso - August 28th, 2018

The problem is not overpolicing, it is policing itself. Why we need to defund the police and how we get there.

Recent weeks have seen an explosion of protest against police brutality and repression. Among activists, journalists and politicians, the conversation about how to respond and improve policing has focused on accountability, diversity, training, and community relations.


Subscribe to Octavia Books | New Orleans, Louisiana - Independent Bookstore RSS