Grandfather's Journey (Paperback)

Grandfather's Journey Cover Image
$7.99
Not in stock. Usually arrives in 2-5 Days

Description


 In this Caldecott Medalwinning picture book, master storyteller Allen Say chronicles his family’s history between Japan and California. A lyrical, breathtaking tale of one man’s love for two countries, Grandfather’s Journey is perfect for fans of Dreamers, A Different Pond, and Thank You, Omu!

Through pensive portraits and delicately faded art, Allen Say pays tribute to his grandfather’s persistent longing for home that continues within Allen.

This restlessness and constant desire to be in two places speaks to a universal experience as well as the deeply personal ties of family to place, and what it means to be at home in more than one country.

Both a celebration of heritage and a poignant exploration of the struggles we inherit, Grandfather’s Journey is a modern classic perfect for every household.
 

About the Author


Allen Say was born in Yokohama, Japan, in 1937. He dreamed of becoming a cartoonist from the age of six, and, at age twelve, apprenticed himself to his favorite cartoonist, Noro Shinpei. For the next four years, Say learned to draw and paint under the direction of Noro, who has remained Say's mentor. Say illustrated his first children's book -- published in 1972 -- in a photo studio between shooting assignments. For years, Say continued writing and illustrating children's books on a part-time basis. But in 1987, while illustrating THE BOY OF THE THREE-YEAR NAP (Caldecott Honor Medal), he recaptured the joy he had known as a boy working in his master's studio. It was then that Say decided to make a full commitment to doing what he loves best: writing and illustrating children's books. Since then, he has written and illustrated many books, including TREE OF CRANES and GRANDFATHER'S JOURNEY, winner of the 1994 Caldecott Medal. He is a full-time writer and illustrator living in Portland, Oregon.

Praise For…


The immigrant experience has rarely been so poignantly evoked.
Horn Book, Starred


Product Details
ISBN: 9780547076805
ISBN-10: 0547076800
Publisher: Clarion Books
Publication Date: October 27th, 2008
Pages: 32
Language: English