Author Event

Errol Barron - TULANE OBSERVED - book launch

Event date: 

Sunday, May 19, 2019 - 2:00pm

Event address: 

Octavia Books - 513 Octavia Street - New Orleans, LA 70115

Please join us in celebrating the release of New Orleans architect Errol Barron's new book, TULANE OBSERVED: A Campus Sketchbook.

This new book of drawings, essays and observations of Tulane and Newcomb colleges follows the sketchbook model of architect Errol Barron's two popular books, NEW ORLEANS OBSERVED and ROMA OSSERVATA (Rome Observed). Drawings of most of the major buildings and their environment along with notes and essays by Professors Errol Barron and Richard Campanella examine the sources of the architecture and planning of Tulane’s uptown campus.

Barry Gifford - SOUTHERN NIGHTS

Event date: 

Tuesday, May 21, 2019 - 6:00pm

Event address: 

Octavia Books - 513 Ocravia Street - New Orleans, LA 70115

We hope you will join us when Barry Gifford, best known as the author of Wild at Heart who has lived in and written about New Orleans in his novels and stories, comes for and evening at Octavia Books to present and sign the recently released edition of the three novels that constitute his Southern Nights trilogy: Night People, Arise & Walk, and Baby Cat Face. These Southern Gothic novels may be among the weirdest and best of Gifford's novels for their sheer velocity—the copious, raw violence; the invented religions and gods that make people do things; and the way they demonstrate how the horrors somehow cohabit—affably—with the genuine pathos and loveliness of the unforgettable characters that live in these books.

Mary Miller - BILOXI

Event date: 

Thursday, May 23, 2019 - 6:00pm

Event address: 

Octavia Books - 513 Octavia Street - New Orleans, LA 70115
LA

Come meet author Mary Miller when she reads and signs her new novel, BILOXI.

Mary Miller seizes the mantle of southern literature with Biloxi, a tender, gritty tale of middle age and the unexpected turns a life can take.

Mary Giuliani - TINY HOT DOGS

Event date: 

Sunday, May 5, 2019 - 1:00pm

Event address: 

Octavia Books - 513 Octavia Street - New Orleans, LA 70115

TINY HOT DOGS Mary Giuliani cover

Please join us for a Sunday afternoon special signing with famed caterer Mary Giuliani featuring her new book, TINY HOT DOGS: A Memoir in Small Bites.

From awkward schoolgirl to Caterer to the Stars, Mary Giuliani weaves together a collection of hilarious memories, from professional growing pains to her long journey to motherhood, never losing her sense of humor and her love for everyone's favorite party food, pigs in a blanket.

Georgia Hunter - WE WERE THE LUCKY ONES

Event date: 

Sunday, May 5, 2019 - 6:30pm

Event address: 

New Orleans JCC - 5342 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70115

Octavia Books is proud to be the official bookseller for the JCC’s Community-Wide Holocaust Memorial Program. The program features author Georgia Hunter who only learned at age 15 that she came from a family of Holocaust survivors. WE WERE THE LUCKY ONES is her novel, born of her quest to uncover her family’s staggering history.

S. A. Lelchuk - SAVE ME FROM DANGEROUS MEN

Event date: 

Tuesday, May 7, 2019 - 6:00pm

Event address: 

Octavia Books - 513 Ocravia Street - New Orleans, LA 70115

A badass bookseller who punishes abusersin the vein of Jack Reacher, Dexter Morgan, and Stephanie Pluminvestigates a murder in this thrilling debut.

Join us when S. A. Lelchuk comes to read and sign his new novel, SAVE ME FROM DANGEROUS MEN.

“Action packed and razor sharp - Jack Reacher would love Nikki Griffin."
Lee Child, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Past Tense

Dianne Hales – LA PASSIONE

Event date: 

Wednesday, May 8, 2019 - 6:00pm

Event address: 

American Italian Cultural Center - 537 S Peters St - New Orleans, LA 70130

Join us at the American Italian Cultural Center with  New York Times best-selling author Dianne Hales for a presentation & signing of her newest book: La Passione: How Italy Seduced the World.

A charming narrative and “pop historical” look into how Italy has shaped the Western world’s most vibrant passions, from literature to love, music to art, food to wine.

Nigel Hamilton - WAR AND PEACE: FDR's Final Odyssey: D-Day to Yalta, 1943–1945

Event date: 

Saturday, May 11, 2019 - 6:00pm

Event address: 

Octavia Books - 513 Octavia Street - New Orleans, LA 70115

Please join us for a very special evening, the crowning act of our New Orleans Independent Bookstore Day 2019 celebration, when biographer Nigel Hamilton presents and signs his new book, WAR AND PEACE: FDR's Final Odyssey: D-Day to Yalta, 1943–1945.

To mark the 75th anniversary of D-day, the stirring climax to Nigel Hamilton’s three-part saga of FDR at war—proof that he was World War II’s key strategist, even on his deathbed.

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Author Event