Author Event

Georgia Hunter - WE WERE THE LUCKY ONES

Event date: 

Sunday, May 5, 2019 - 6:30pm

Event address: 

New Orleans JCC - 5342 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70115

Octavia Books is proud to be the official bookseller for the JCC’s Community-Wide Holocaust Memorial Program. The program features author Georgia Hunter who only learned at age 15 that she came from a family of Holocaust survivors. WE WERE THE LUCKY ONES is her novel, born of her quest to uncover her family’s staggering history.

S. A. Lelchuk - SAVE ME FROM DANGEROUS MEN

Event date: 

Tuesday, May 7, 2019 - 6:00pm

Event address: 

Octavia Books - 513 Ocravia Street - New Orleans, LA 70115

A badass bookseller who punishes abusersin the vein of Jack Reacher, Dexter Morgan, and Stephanie Pluminvestigates a murder in this thrilling debut.

Join us when S. A. Lelchuk comes to read and sign his new novel, SAVE ME FROM DANGEROUS MEN.

“Action packed and razor sharp - Jack Reacher would love Nikki Griffin."
Lee Child, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Past Tense

Dianne Hales – LA PASSIONE

Event date: 

Wednesday, May 8, 2019 - 6:00pm

Event address: 

American Italian Cultural Center - 537 S Peters St - New Orleans, LA 70130

Join us at the American Italian Cultural Center with  New York Times best-selling author Dianne Hales for a presentation & signing of her newest book: La Passione: How Italy Seduced the World.

A charming narrative and “pop historical” look into how Italy has shaped the Western world’s most vibrant passions, from literature to love, music to art, food to wine.

Nigel Hamilton - WAR AND PEACE: FDR's Final Odyssey: D-Day to Yalta, 1943–1945

Event date: 

Saturday, May 11, 2019 - 6:00pm

Event address: 

Octavia Books - 513 Octavia Street - New Orleans, LA 70115

Please join us for a very special evening, the crowning act of our New Orleans Independent Bookstore Day 2019 celebration, when biographer Nigel Hamilton presents and signs his new book, WAR AND PEACE: FDR's Final Odyssey: D-Day to Yalta, 1943–1945.

To mark the 75th anniversary of D-day, the stirring climax to Nigel Hamilton’s three-part saga of FDR at war—proof that he was World War II’s key strategist, even on his deathbed.

Aaron Schneider - RENEW ORLEANS?

Event date: 

Monday, May 13, 2019 - 6:00pm

Event address: 

Octavia Books - 513 Octavia Street - New Orleans, LA 70115

Renew OrleansPlease join us for a presentation and signing with Aaron Schneider featuring his book, RENEW ORLEANS? about the post-Katrina reconstruction of the city, especially the reorganization of economic activity in areas such as construction, tourism, and manufacturing. To explain these changes, the book focuses on political change, analyzing the myriad boards, commissions, public benefit corporations and other entities to understand political transitions both before and after Katrina.

An evening with Judith Viorst - NEARING NINETY

Event date: 

Tuesday, May 14, 2019 - 7:00pm

Event address: 

JCC - 5342 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70115

Please join us at the JCC for a very special evening with Judith Viorst - beloved author of ALEXANDER AND THE TERRIBLE, HORRIBLE, NO GOOD VERY BAD DAY - presenting NEARING NINETY And Other Comedies of Late Life. In this newest illustrated poetry collection in her decade series (from It’s Hard to Be Hip Over Thirty to Unexpectedly Eighty), Judith Viorst explores with signature savvy and humor what it means to be an impending nonagenarian.

Doug Segal - STRUCK

Event date: 

Tuesday, April 30, 2019 - 7:00pm

Event address: 

Uptown JCC - 5342 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70115

Doug Segal's wife and young daughter were hit head-on by a Los Angeles city bus. What began as regular emails to friends and family became a memoir of this experience. Join us at the New Orleans JCC as Doug and his wife Susan share their incredible story, recounted in his book STRUCK: A Husband's Memoir of Trauma and Triumph. Alternately harrowing, humorous, heartbreaking and hopeful, it is an uplifting tribute to love, determination, and how the compassion of community holds the power to heal.

“If love is the answer, the question is, how do I add more of it into my life? Susan and Doug's story of resilience teaches us not only how to survive life's biggest challenges, but how to make life worth living.”
Annabelle Gurwitch, author of I See You Made an Effort and Wherever You Go, There They Are

Ken Wells - GUMBO LIFE: Tales from the Roux Bayou

Event date: 

Monday, March 11, 2019 - 6:00pm

Event address: 

Octavia Books - 513 Octavia Street - New Orleans, LA 70115

Come join us when author/journalist Ken Wells talks gumbo, presenting and signing his new book. GUMBO LIFE: Tales from the Roux Bayou.

Ken Wells was to the gumbo born. Enhancing that felicitous beginning, he has traveled the Gumbo Belt researching, recording, and—most importantly—savoring the myriad interpretations of the iconic Louisiana soup. He even has recipes, including two of my favorites. (I’m not telling which ones!) Like a dense, flavorful gumbo filled with tastes of the region, this is a book to savor.” - Jessica Harris, author of High on the Hog: A Culinary Journey from Africa to America

Maxine Gordon - SOPHISTICATED GIANT: The Life and Legacy of Dexter Gordon

Event date: 

Thursday, March 14, 2019 - 6:00pm

Event address: 

Octavia Books - 513 Octavia Street - New Orleans, LA 70115

Please join us for a when Maxine Gordon presents and signs her new book, SOPHISTICATED GIANT: Life and Legacy of Dexter Gordon, the highly-acclaimed official biography of her late husband. She will appear in conversation with Fred Kasten, host of WWNO's Jazz New Orleans.

Maxine Gordon astutely frames the fiery daring of Dexter Gordon’s generation of bebop innovators in the context of rising black consciousness and creative agency in midcentury America…“Sophisticated Giant” is a work of considerable sophistication, the first-person testimony of its subject employed with affectionate discipline, smartly contextualized and augmented by material from interviews Maxine Gordon conducted with the tenor saxophone masters Sonny Rollins and Jimmy Heath, the record producers Bruce Lundvall and Michael Cucsuna, and others."
-David Hajdu / The New York Times

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Author Event