Author Event

Josh Levin - THE QUEEN

Event date: 

Wednesday, June 19, 2019 - 7:00pm

Event address: 

JCC - 5342 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70115

Join us at the JCC when Slate national editor Josh Levin presents and signs his new book, THE QUEEN: The Forgotten Life Behind an American Myth, a masterful account of the life and crimes of America's original "welfare queen." Josh Levin will will appear in conversation with Jordan Hirsch, editor of “A Closer Walk,” the interactive map of New Orleans music history.

“In the finest tradition of investigative reporting, Josh Levin exposes how a story that once shaped the nation’s conscience was clouded by racism and lies. As he stunningly reveals, the deeper truth, the messy truth, tells us something much larger about who we are. THE QUEEN is an invaluable work of nonfiction.”  —  David Grann, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Killers of the Flower Moon

Tammy L. Turner - DICK WATERMAN: A Life in Blues

Event date: 

Thursday, June 20, 2019 - 6:00pm

Event address: 

Octavia Books - 513 Octavia Street - New Orleans, LA 70115

We hope you will join us for a presentation and signing with author Tammy L. Turner featuring DICK WATERMAN: A Life in Blues, her new biography of the renowned manager of Son House, Mississippi Fred McDowell, Buddy Guy, and Bonnie Raitt, who worked with a host of other iconic blues artists.

Growing up in an affluent Jewish family in Plymouth, Massachusetts, Dick Waterman (b. 1935) was a shy, stuttering boy living a world away from the Mississippi Delta. Though he never heard blues music at home, he became one of the most influential figures in blues of the twentieth century.

Mark Lamster - THE MAN IN THE GLASS HOUSE

Event date: 

Friday, June 21, 2019 - 7:30pm to 8:15pm

Event address: 

Contemporary Arts Center - 900 Camp Street - New Orleans, LA 70130
Join us and the Louisiana Architecture Foundation for a book talk at the Contemporary Arts Center with award-winning architectural critic and biographer Mark Lamster presenting his recent book, THE MAN IN THE GLASS HOUSE: : Philip Johnson, Architect of the Modern Century - in conversation with John Klingman. A booksigning will follow.
 
A "smoothly written and fair-minded" (Wall Street Journal) biography of architect Philip Johnson - a finalist for the National Book Critic's Circle Award

TINDERBOX: An Evening with Robert W. Fieseler in Conversation with Skylar Fein

Event date: 

Wednesday, June 26, 2019 - 6:00pm

Event address: 

New Orleans Public Library - 219 Loyola Avenue - New Orleans, LA 70112
Join us downtown at the main New Orleans Public Library for and event with author Robert W. Fieseler featuring the just released paperback release of his nonfiction New Orleans book, TINDERBOX: The Untold Story of the Up Stairs Lounge Fire and the Rise of Gay Liberation, winner of the winner of the Edgar Award for Best Fact Crime, winner of Lambda Literary's Judith A. Markowitz Award for Emerging LGBTQ Writers, and named a Best Book of the Year by Kirkus Reviews, Library Journal and Shelf Awareness. Fiesler will appear in conversation with New Orleans artist and Up Stairs Lounge historian Skylar Fein for a discussion commemorating the 46th anniversary of the Upstairs Lounge Fire and the 50th anniversary of the Stonewall Riots.

Errol Barron - TULANE OBSERVED - book launch

Event date: 

Sunday, May 19, 2019 - 2:00pm

Event address: 

Octavia Books - 513 Octavia Street - New Orleans, LA 70115

Please join us in celebrating the release of New Orleans architect Errol Barron's new book, TULANE OBSERVED: A Campus Sketchbook.

This new book of drawings, essays and observations of Tulane and Newcomb colleges follows the sketchbook model of architect Errol Barron's two popular books, NEW ORLEANS OBSERVED and ROMA OSSERVATA (Rome Observed). Drawings of most of the major buildings and their environment along with notes and essays by Professors Errol Barron and Richard Campanella examine the sources of the architecture and planning of Tulane’s uptown campus.

Barry Gifford - SOUTHERN NIGHTS

Event date: 

Tuesday, May 21, 2019 - 6:00pm

Event address: 

Octavia Books - 513 Ocravia Street - New Orleans, LA 70115

We hope you will join us when Barry Gifford, best known as the author of Wild at Heart who has lived in and written about New Orleans in his novels and stories, comes for and evening at Octavia Books to present and sign the recently released edition of the three novels that constitute his Southern Nights trilogy: Night People, Arise & Walk, and Baby Cat Face. These Southern Gothic novels may be among the weirdest and best of Gifford's novels for their sheer velocity—the copious, raw violence; the invented religions and gods that make people do things; and the way they demonstrate how the horrors somehow cohabit—affably—with the genuine pathos and loveliness of the unforgettable characters that live in these books.

Mary Giuliani - TINY HOT DOGS

Event date: 

Sunday, May 5, 2019 - 1:00pm

Event address: 

Octavia Books - 513 Octavia Street - New Orleans, LA 70115

TINY HOT DOGS Mary Giuliani cover

Please join us for a Sunday afternoon special signing with famed caterer Mary Giuliani featuring her new book, TINY HOT DOGS: A Memoir in Small Bites.

From awkward schoolgirl to Caterer to the Stars, Mary Giuliani weaves together a collection of hilarious memories, from professional growing pains to her long journey to motherhood, never losing her sense of humor and her love for everyone's favorite party food, pigs in a blanket.

Georgia Hunter - WE WERE THE LUCKY ONES

Event date: 

Sunday, May 5, 2019 - 6:30pm

Event address: 

New Orleans JCC - 5342 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70115

Octavia Books is proud to be the official bookseller for the JCC’s Community-Wide Holocaust Memorial Program. The program features author Georgia Hunter who only learned at age 15 that she came from a family of Holocaust survivors. WE WERE THE LUCKY ONES is her novel, born of her quest to uncover her family’s staggering history.

S. A. Lelchuk - SAVE ME FROM DANGEROUS MEN

Event date: 

Tuesday, May 7, 2019 - 6:00pm

Event address: 

Octavia Books - 513 Ocravia Street - New Orleans, LA 70115

A badass bookseller who punishes abusersin the vein of Jack Reacher, Dexter Morgan, and Stephanie Pluminvestigates a murder in this thrilling debut.

Join us when S. A. Lelchuk comes to read and sign his new novel, SAVE ME FROM DANGEROUS MEN.

“Action packed and razor sharp - Jack Reacher would love Nikki Griffin."
Lee Child, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Past Tense

Dianne Hales – LA PASSIONE

Event date: 

Wednesday, May 8, 2019 - 6:00pm

Event address: 

American Italian Cultural Center - 537 S Peters St - New Orleans, LA 70130

Join us at the American Italian Cultural Center with  New York Times best-selling author Dianne Hales for a presentation & signing of her newest book: La Passione: How Italy Seduced the World.

A charming narrative and “pop historical” look into how Italy has shaped the Western world’s most vibrant passions, from literature to love, music to art, food to wine.

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Author Event