Children's Book Event

Taylor Kitchings - YARD WAR

Event date: 

Saturday, October 24, 2015 - 3:00pm

Event address: 

Octavia Books, 513 Octavia Street, New Orleans, LA 70115

Meet author Taylor Kitchings when he comes to present and sign YARD WARhis new novel for middle-grade readers.

Perfect for readers of Christopher Paul Curtis’s Bud, Not Buddy and Vince Vawter’s Paperboy, Yard War explores race relations during the Civil Rights Movement from the perspective of a boy who accidentally sets off a 'yard war' when he invites his maid’s son to play football on his front lawn.

PATSY THE MULE AND THE ROMAN CANDY MAN with Author Pam Kaster & Ron Kottemann and Vidalia

Event date: 

Saturday, November 7, 2015 - 2:00pm

Event address: 

Octavia Books, 513 Octavia Street, New Orleans, LA 70115

We are thrilled to welcome Pam Kaster, author of PATSY THE MULE AND THE ROMAN CANDY MAN, and Ron Kottemann - the Roman Candy Man himself - and Vidalia the mule!

Pam Kaster created this lovely tribute to Patsy the Mule for children of all ages, and this year is the 100th anniversary of the Roman Candy Man.

Patsy, a tall white mule, pulled the Candy Man's wagon on the streets of uptown New Orleans for six years. She made many friends and posed for many photographs. This photo-filled book takes readers along with Patsy and the Candy Man as they make their stops. Since 1915 children have enjoyed taffy sold from the red and white candy wagon. Parents and grandparents today still delight in introducing new generations to this sweet New Orleans tradition.

Deborah Diesen - NOT VERY MERRY POUT POUT FISH

Event date: 

Friday, November 20, 2015 - 4:00pm

Event address: 

Octavia Books - 513 Octavia Street - New Orleans, LA 70115

Join us for a fun reading and signing with children's book author Deborah Diesen featuring her new book, THE NOT VERY MERRY POUT POUT FISH.

A gift should be 'big,'
And a gift should be 'bright.'
And a gift should be 'perfect'-
Guaranteed to bring delight.
And a gift should have 'meaning'
Plus a bit of bling-'zing,'
So I'll shop till I drop
For each just-right thing.

Will Mr. Fish find perfect gifts for everyone on his list? Will he finish his shopping in time?

Swim along with Mr. Fish on his holiday shopping quest. He might just discover that the best gifts of all come straight from the heart.

Zachary Richard - THE LEGEND OF L'IL RED

Event date: 

Sunday, November 22, 2015 - 1:00pm

Event address: 

Octavia Books, 513 Octavia Street, New Orleans, LA 70115

Singer-songwriter, poet, cultural activist, and environmentalist Zachary Richard will read from the book and perform a song he wrote to accompany THE LEGEND OF L'IL RED.

The Legend of L'il Red is a fable in the Aesop's tradition for children of all ages. It is a story of friendship, persistence, tolerance, and love. The two principal characters, a blind turtle and a one-clawed baby crawfish, find each other in the middle of a hurricane. The Legend of L'il Red is the story of their adventures as they set off in search of a new claw for the little crawfish, encountering a host of incredible creatures and confronting big challenges along the way.

 

Mark Shulman - Join Us for Wordplay Playday!

Event date: 

Friday, July 17, 2015 - 4:00pm

Event address: 

Octavia Books, 513 Octavia Street, New Orleans, LA 70115

Mom and Dad Are PalindromesPlease join us for some crazy, backwards mixed-up and very clever Friday wordplay fun when Mark Shulman presents and signs MOM AND DAD ARE PALINDROMES and the sequel, ANN AND NAN ARE ANAGRAMS,

Bob has a problem. He's a palindrome. In fact, as soon as his teacher points out what a palindrome is, Bob realizes there are palindromes everywhere: his pup Otto, his little sis, Nan. . . even Mom and Dad!

It's making Bob feel like a kook. Is there no escape?

Join the hilarity. . . do your civic deed and help us find the more than 101 palindromes in the words and pictures of this zany book.  

Phil Bildner - MARVELOUS CORNELIUS: Hurricane Katrina and the Spirit of New Orleans

Event date: 

Sunday, August 30, 2015 - 2:00pm

Event address: 

Octavia Books, 513 Octavia Street, New Orleans, LA 70115

Please join us for a Sunday afternoon reading & signing with children's book author Phil Bildner featuring his new book, MARVELOUS CORNELIUS.

In New Orleans, there lived a man who saw the streets as his calling, and he swept them clean. He danced up one avenue and down another and everyone danced along. The old ladies whistled and whirled. The old men hooted and hollered. The barbers, bead twirlers, and beignet bakers bounded behind that one-man parade. But then came the rising Mississippi and a storm greater than anyone had seen before. In this heartwarming book about a real garbage man, Phil Bildner and John Parra tell the inspiring story of a humble man and the heroic difference he made in the aftermath of Hurricane Katrina.

Renee Ahdieh - THE WRATH AND THE DAWN & Claudia Gray - A THOUSAND PIECES OF YOU

Event date: 

Friday, October 2, 2015 - 5:30pm

Event address: 

Octavia Books, 513 Octavia Street, New Orleans, LA 70115

Come meet YA author Renee Ahdieh when she talks about her brilliant new book, THE WRATH AND THE DAWN - a sumptuous and epically told love story inspired by A Thousand and One Nights. - with New Orleans-based YA author Claudia Gray, author of A THOUSAND PIECES OF YOU.

 

THE WRATH AND THE DAWN

Marcia Goldman - LOLA AND TATTLETALE ZEKE

Event date: 

Sunday, June 7, 2015 - 3:30pm

Event address: 

Octavia Books - 513 Octavia St. - New Orleans, LA 70115

“Tiny and gentle, but powerful just the same.”— Kirkus Reviews

Please join us for a special picture book storytime and booksigning with children's book author Marcia Goldman with her Yorkie featuring her new book in the loveable "Lola" series, LOLA AND TATTLETALE ZEKE.

Lola, an adorable Yorkie, introduces little brother Zeke in this gentle story about sibling dynamics and the problem of tattletales. Parents and teachers are all too familiar with the issue of “telling” versus “tattling.” This charming picture book will help guide children through the difference between “good telling” and bad, while keeping them entertained and engaged. Lola loves her little brother Zeke, but Zeke has a big problem: He keeps tattling on her. From messes to mishaps, Lola and Zeke must learn that working together is always more fun than tattling.

Megan Braden-Perry and Lyn Brantley Vicknair - ALLEN THE ALLIGATOR COUNTS THROUGH NEW ORLEANS

Event date: 

Sunday, May 17, 2015 - 2:00pm

Event address: 

Octavia Books - 513 Octavia St. - New Orleans, LA 70115

Please join us for a Sunday afternoon reading & signing with Megan Braden-Perry (author) and Lyn Brantley Vicknair (illustrator) celebrating the launch of their very cute debut children's picture book, ALLEN THE ALLIGATOR COUNTS THROUGH NEW ORLEANS.

"One alligator named Allen, wearing a silver medallion, boarded the Elysian Fields bus. He greeted the driver, paid his fare and spotted his good pal Gus."

What follows is a day full of fun and adventure, from eating classic New Orleans cuisine to stopping bullies and touring a police station.

Pat Roig - THE BEIGNET THAT ALMOST GOT AWAY

Event date: 

Saturday, March 28, 2015 - 10:30am

Event address: 

Octavia Books - 513 Octavia St. - New Orleans, LA 70115

Join us along with friends of the Child Development Program (CDP) for a very special live performance - complete with puppets, props, and plenty of silliness -  featuring Pat Roig's hilarious picture book, THE BEIGNET THAT ALMOST GOT AWAY. This uniquely New Orleans tale chronicles the adventures of cockroaches Ralph and Roxanne as they chase an elusive beignet through the streets of the French Quarter.

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Children's Book Event