Children's Book Event

Newcomb Children's Center Bookfair onsite at Octavia Books

Event date: 

Saturday, November 15, 2014 - 10:51pm

Event address: 

513 Octavia St
70115-2055 New Orleans
us

Necomb Student

Octavia Books is proudly hosting the Newcomb Children's Center Bookfair on Saturday, November 15, 2014, 10-6. On hand we'll have teacher wishlists that friends and family can purchase for individual classrooms. Also, when friends and family make purchases with special vouchers (found at Newcomb), we'll donate a percentage of the total sales to the school! (You can use the vouchers from Saturday, November 15 to Friday, November 21.)

We will have freshly signed editions of the great children's book author William Joyce's newest book, A BEAN, A STALK, A BOY NAMED JACK. Octavia Books bookseller Veronica will read this book for a short storytime at 11:30. Free and open to the public.

Good Night, Sleep Tight (Halloween) Story Hour

Event date: 

Friday, October 24, 2014 - 5:00pm

Event address: 

513 Octavia St
70115-2055 New Orleans
us

Edgar Gets Ready for Bed

On Friday, October 24, 2014, 5-6, wear your Halloween pajamas or a costume and join us for our first ever Good Night, Sleep Tight Story Hour.

Dr. Jeffrey Sigler, regular winner of the Edgar Allen Poe Reading Contest during his time at UVA, will be our special guest reader. He'll recite "The Raven," read from I AM a WITCH'S CAT by Harriet Muncaster,  LITTLE BOO by Stephen Wunderli, and EDGAR GETS READY FOR BED by Jennifer Adams.

FIND WALDO IN NEW ORLEANS PARTY!!!

Event date: 

Thursday, July 31, 2014 - 5:00pm

Event address: 

513 Octavia St
70115-2055 New Orleans
us

 

Join us for fun, games and the drawing of The Grand Prize (and lots of other prizes) for everyone who found Waldo in New Orleans this July

Regardless of your age, you are encouraged to come in costume. The event is being recorded by MSNBC for national broadcast.

 Elusive Book Character Returns to New Orleans to Celebrate Local Independents

Where's Waldo? It's no surprise that the elusive book character, Waldo, chose to make a visit to hang out with his dog, Woof, in the neighborhood with his favorite bookstore in beautiful uptown New Orleans for his vacation this whole month of July!

The famous children's book character in the striped shirt and black-rimmed specs has been hobnobbing all month at 24 different independent local shops all around Octavia Books - from ice cream parlors, snowball stands, chocolate shops, and eateries to toy stores, hobby shops, movie theaters, and bike shops.

Those who spot him can win prizes, including buttons, book coupons and great gifts contributed from all of the participating local businesses, with the grand prize being a six-volume deluxe set of Waldo books.

Collecting store stamps or signatures at 15 or more businesses will entitle diligent seekers to entry in a grand prize drawing at the Waldo party.

There is no charge to participate. And the hunt is still on.

Here are the participating businesses:

 

 

Kenny Harrison - HIDE AND SEEK HARRY At the Beach and Around the House

Event date: 

Sunday, July 13, 2014 - 1:30pm

Event address: 

513 Octavia St
70115-2055 New Orleans
us

 

Please join us for a story time reading and booksigning with New Orleans illustrator/author Kenny Harrison featuring his fun new summer read children's board books, HIDE AND SEEK HARRY AT THE BEACH and HIDE AND SEEK HARRY AROUND THE HOUSE.

Harry likes to play hide-and-seek, but it's hard to hide a hippo! Little readers will love being in on the joke as they spot the formidable Harry.

When Harry and his friends are at the beach, they always play their favorite game, hide-and-seek. In a hammock, under a sand castle, or behind a palm tree - there are so many places for Harry to hide. Or try to, at least!

And, in a second book, Harry is fond of hiding around the house and is sure he is hard to find. But his hiding places - under the flowerpot, behind the doghouse, in a bubble bath - aren't always quite right for concealing a hippo. Luckily, Harry loves to be found!



Kenny Harrison worked for thirty-two years as an award-winning artist for The Times Picayune before pursuing his passion: writing and illustrating children's books. He now works in both traditional and digital techniques. Raised in New York City, he  lives in New Orleans with his wife, two children, and a menagerie of rescue pets.

 

 

 

Paula Freedman - MY BASMATI BAT MITZVAH

Event date: 

Monday, May 12, 2014 - 5:30pm

Event address: 

513 Octavia St
70115-2055 New Orleans
us

Please join us when Paula Freedman presents and signs her debut middle grade children's novel, MY BASMATI BAT MITZVAH.

During the fall leading up to her bat mitzvah, Tara (Hindi for "star") Feinstein has a lot more than her Torah portion on her mind. Between Hebrew school and study sessions with the rabbi, there doesn't seem to be enough time to hang out with her best friend Ben-O-who might also be her boyfriend-and her other best friend, Rebecca, who's getting a little too cozy with the snotty Sheila Rosenberg. Not to mention working on her robotics project with the class clown Ryan Berger, or figuring out what to do with a priceless heirloom sari that she accidentally ruined. Amid all this drama, Tara considers how to balance her Indian and Jewish identities and what it means to have a bat mitzvah while questioning her faith.

With the cross-cultural charm of Bend It Like Beckham, this delightful debut novel is a classic coming-of-age story and young romance with universal appeal.

Paula J. Freedman has another career in digital media, making websites for a well-known children's publisher, a TV network, and assorted others. She's pretty much the same person she was in middle school, only nicer and with less acne. She lives with her husband and two parrots in New York City. 

T. A. Barron - ATLANTIS RISING

Event date: 

Saturday, May 10, 2014 - 11:30am

Event address: 

513 Octavia St
70115-2055 New Orleans
us

Please come by and meet New York Times bestselling middle-grades children's book author T. A. Barron (THE MERLIN SAGA) when he drops by Octavia Books to sign ATLANTIS RISING, a new fantasy world about the origins of Atlantis, perfect for fans of The Lord of the Rings, Eragon, The Beyonders and Percy Jackson and the Olympians

T. A. Barron will also be signing some other favorite titles including books from the Merlin series, The Hero’s Trail, and others.

In a magical land called Ellegandia, a young boy named Promi scrapes by, stealing pies, cakes and sweets to survive. But little does he know that his country is a pawn in an ages-old war between good and evil, battled both in the spirit realm and in the human world. Harboring secrets of his own, Promi teams up with a courageous girl named Atlanta and the two vow to save theirland — and each other — no matter the cost. But their vow has greater repercussions than they ever could imagine—in fact, it may just bring about the creation of Atlantis, an island cut off from the rest of the world, where magic reigns supreme.

T. A. Barron is the author of many books for young readers, including the Merlin series, The Hero’s Trail, Tree Girl, and The Heartlight Saga. He lives in Boulder, Colorado, and is the founder of the Gloria Barron Prize for Young Heroes, which honors outstanding young people. 

 

 

An Evening with Jeff Kinney, Jon Scieszka, Dan Santat & Dav Pilkey

Event date: 

Friday, May 9, 2014 - 6:00pm

Event address: 

Metaire Park Country Day School
300 Park Road
70005 Metairie
us
We are thrilled to have not one, not two, not three, but four major children’s book authors and illustrators at one amazing event!

Jeff Kinney (DIARY OF A WIMPY KID) Dav Pilkey (CAPTAIN UNDERPANTS); Jon Scieszka (FRANK EINSTEIN); and Dan Santat (RICKY ROCOTTA'S MIGHTY ROBOT) will give a talk about their latest books followed by a booksigning.

The event will take place live at Metairie Park Country Day School (300 Park Rd., Metairie, LA 70005) on Friday, May 9, 2014 at 6:00 PM (Doors open 5:30PM). 

Tickets

To attend, you must purchase a ticket. Each $10 ticket admits one person and counts toward the purchase of books at the event or toward the pre-purchase of signed Jon Scieszka's forthcoming FRANK EINSTEIN (Aug. 2014) or Jeff Kinney's Diary of a Wimpy Kid #9 (Nov. 2014).

Only books purchased at the event will be signed.

You may purchase tickets online by clicking here. Or you may purchase them by coming to Octavia Books or calling us during store hours at 504-899-READ (7323).   You must pay for your tickets at the time you reserve them. Tickets are non-refundable.

Brian Floca - LOCOMOTIVE

Event date: 

Sunday, May 11, 2014 - 11:00am

Event address: 

513 Octavia St
70115-2055 New Orleans
us

Come hear the hiss of the steam, feel the heat of the engine, watch the landscape race by. Come ride the rails, come cross the young country when children's picture book illustrator/author Brian Floca drops by Octavia Books to sign copies of his fabulous book LOCOMOTIVE, which recently was awarded the Caldecott Medal.

The Caldecott Medal Winner, Sibert Honor Book, and New York Times bestseller Locomotive is a rich and detailed sensory exploration of America’s early railroads, from the creator of the stunning (Booklist) Moonshot.

It is the summer of 1869, and trains, crews, and family are traveling together, riding America’s brand-new transcontinental railroad. These pages come alive with the details of the trip and the sounds, speed, and strength of the mighty locomotives; the work that keeps them moving; and the thrill of travel from plains to mountain to ocean.
 

Marissa Moss - BLOOD DIARIES: Tales of a 6th Grade Vampire; and Marcia Goldman - LOLA GOES TO WORK: A 9-5 Therapy Dog

Event date: 

Saturday, May 10, 2014 - 2:00pm

Event address: 

513 Octavia St
70115-2055 New Orleans
us

Please come over to meet two children's authors -  Marissa Moss (well-known for her Amelia's Notebook series) and Marcia Goldman - when they drop by together to sign copies of their latest work.

Marissa Moss' BLOOD DIARIES: Tales of a 6th Grade Vampire continues her tradition of journal-style writing in this  funny, yet relatable, story told from the perspective of a middle schooler who just happens to be a vampire.  Her books are popular with teachers and children alike. Marissa is a California Book Award winner who has received multiple starred reviews from Kirkus, Booklist and Publisher's Weekly.

Marcia Goldman's LOLA GOES TO WORK: A 9-5 Therapy Dog is an adorable children's book that follows Lola, a little terrier with a big job. Children will identify with the feisty Lola as she struggles going to school, passing tests, and finally achieving her Big Dog dream. If Lola can make it in a world of Great Danes and Labradors, so can anybody who's feeling like a runt! The book even includes a teacher guide for empathy curriculum in back of the book - so it's a great buy for teachers, too!

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Children's Book Event