Children's Books


Children's Books (Not just for kids!)


What the Sleepy Animals Do at the Audubon Zoo Cover Image
By Grace Millsaps, Ryan Murphy, John Clark IV (Illustrator), Alyson Kilday (Illustrator)
$18.95
ISBN: 9780988760318
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: The Sleepy Animals, LLC - May 1st, 2014

Rhinos rock out. Alligators stroll under limbo polls. Elephants pound the piano. Pelicans cater.

Ever wonder why the animals at the zoo are always so sleepy? When Renee asks her father why the zoo animals are snoozing all day, he dreams up an elaborate answer.


NEW ORLEANS A TO Z Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780615272757
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Stellabooks - April 1st, 2009

New Orleans A to Z is an alphabet book of Crescent City icons, traditions and culinary favorites, using high-end photography of figurines and toys to illustrate each letter. Created by local photographer Jennifer Zdon, the book celebrates the unique, beautiful and festive world that is New Orleans.


Goodnight Nola: An Endearing Bedtime Book for All Ages Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9780981812649
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Ampersand, Inc. - March 1st, 2009

Goodnight NOLA" is a lovable tribute to things unique to New Orleans. People of all ages will enjoy this rhythmic salute to red beans and rice, po'boys, celebrated chefs, music, historic landmarks, the sporting scene and many other features of the Crescent City. An excellent introduction for young children and a wonderful souvenir.


The Cajun Cornbread Boy Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781589802247
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Pelican Publishing Company - December 15th, 2008

You can't catch me--I'm full of cayenne Baked in a skillet with two chilies for the eyes, a peppercorn for the nose, a link of boudin sausage for the mouth, and a large dash of cayenne pepper for extra spice, the Cajun cornbread boy runs through the bayou, sprinting past hungry animals who would like to sample such a tasty treat.


Happy Jazz Fest Cover Image
By Cornell P. Landry, Sean Gautreaux (Illustrator)
$16.95
ISBN: 9781450706186
Availability: Special Order. May not be available. Call the store for details.
Published: Ampersand, Inc. - April 22nd, 2010

From the place “deep down in the city that some say care forgot” in the “heart of ‘Chilly Gentilly,’” “Happy Jazz Fest” is a remarkably illustrated, thoughtfully written book for kids of all ages whose favorite time of year is when the best in jazz, the blues, gospel and rock play for the throngs of music lovers.


Indestructibles: Hey Diddle Diddle Cover Image
By Jonas Sickler (Illustrator), Amy Pixton (Created by)
$5.95
ISBN: 9780761158622
Availability: Not in stock. Usually arrives in 2-5 Days
Published: Workman Publishing Company - August 5th, 2010

Sing a nursery rhyme with a book that’s indestructible!
 

Hey diddle diddle,
The cat and the fiddle,
The cow jumped over the moon.

 
Indestructibles is the trusted series for easing little ones into story time.


Gator Gumbo: A Spicy-Hot Tale Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780374380502
Availability: Not in stock. Usually arrives in 2-5 Days
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR) - March 9th, 2004

A new take on The Little Red Hen -- Cajun style


P Is for Pelican: A Louisiana (Discover America State by State) Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9781585361373
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Sleeping Bear Press - November 1st, 2003

Illustrated by Laura Knorr

From its festive Mardi Gras parades to its wildlife-filled swamps, Louisiana is a state of great diversity. "P is for Pelican: A Louisiana Alphabet" is an alphabet book that introduces readers young and old to the culture, history, and wonders of this Gulf state. Author Anita C.


A Horn for Louis: Louis Armstrong--as a kid! (A Stepping Stone Book(TM)) Cover Image
$5.99
ISBN: 9780375840050
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House Books for Young Readers - November 14th, 2006

How did famous New Orleans jazz trumpet player Louis Armstrong get his first horn?
 


The Cajun Gingerbread Boy Cover Image
$13.95
ISBN: 9780922589661
Availability: Special Order. May not be available. Call the store for details.
Published: More Than a Card - April 1st, 1999

Jenny Giraffe and the Streetcar Party Cover Image
By Cecilia Dartez, Andy Green (Illustrator)
$19.88
ISBN: 9780882899626
Availability: Not in stock. Usually arrives in 2-5 Days
Published: Pelican Publishing Company - September 30th, 1993

Ride along with Jenny for another fun adventure in the Big Easy


Two Bobbies: A True Story of Hurricane Katrina, Friendship, and Survival Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780802797544
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Bloomsbury USA Childrens - September 1st, 2008

from Newbery award winning author Kirby Larson comes a remarkable true story of the devotion, friendship, and survival of two pets left behind in the wake of Hurricane Katrina. In the tradition of Owen and Mzee, this beautiful picture book is a testament to the spirit that defined post-Katrina rescue missions.